Scene 11 Hot Sauce

by johnepete

Hot Sauce

John  exits  the  bedroom  dressed  in jeans,  a  blue  and  gold  button  down  shirt  and  his  boots.

” Ready  baby,”  he  says.

Su  is  dressed  in  a  nice  pair  of shorts,  a  maroon  t-shirt  with  a  marlin  on  the  back  and  her walking  sandals.

” Took  Lucky  for  his  walk  and fed  him, ”  Su  states.

” You  didn’t  have  to  do that.”

” Grampa  John.”

” Yeah  I  guess  you’re  right, I  am  kinda  slow  at  that  stuff.”

” Kinda?  Even  lucky  lays  down when  it’s  time.”  Both  of  them  laugh.

” I’m  ready,”  John  says.

They  both  go  over  to  Lucky  and pet  him.  ” Watch  the  house  buddy,”  Su  says.  ” We’ll  be  back in  a  bit,”  John  says.

Stepping  out  the  front  door  to the  car,  Su  takes  the  driver  seat.

” Oh,  it’s  running.”  John says  surprised.

” Decided  to  let  it  run  so it  was  cool  when  we  got  in.”

” Yeah,  good  idea.  It’s  nice.”

Su  looks  through  the  rear  view and  slowly  backs  up  the  shell  drive  to  an  area  between  the cottages  that  are  closer  to  the  main  road,  does  a  two point  turn  and  drives  past  the  office  to the  asphalt.

” I  guess  you  know  where you’re  going?”  John  asks.

” Yes,  made  this  trip  many times  before.  Just  sit  back  and  relax.”

Su  makes  her  way  to  Rabbit  Road then  to  Sanibel  Captiva  Road.  John  doesn’t  really  know where he’s  at  at  this  point  and  they  drive  through  an  area  where the  roads  are  windy.

” Crazy  roads  huh,”  John says.

” Yes,  I  think  it’s  part  of Ding  Ding  Darling.”

” J.N.  “Ding”  Darling National  Wildlife  Refuge,” he says correcting her.

” Yep,  I  just  call  it  Ding Ding.  It  rings  a  bell,”  she  replies.

“ I  get  it.  I  hear  they  have an  animal  hospital  there.  Here … they  have  people  from  all over  the  U.S.  come  here  to  help  rehabilitate  wildlife…..”

” I’ve  never  been  there,  I wouldn’t  doubt  it.  I  do  want  to  go  there  sometime.”

” Yeah,  I  read  about  it  in some  brochure.  That’s  pretty  cool.”

” Maybe  we’ll  take  the  kids there  when  they  come,”  she  says  keeping  her  eyes  on the  windy  road.

” I  thought  we  were  going  to take  them  to  see  the  Light  bulb  Museum.”

” That’s  in  Ft.  Meyers,  I’m not  sure  I  want  to  leave  the  cottage  very  often.  We’ll see.”

” I’m  alright  with  that.  Hope they  don’t  get  too  bored.”

” Christine  said  they  were going  to  bring  that  video  game  system  with  them.”

” The  black  one?”

” No,  that  other  one  with  the paddles.  The  one  we  played  at  MaryAnn’s.”

” Oh  yeah,  they  love  that thing,  huh?”

Su  nods  her  head  and  pulls  into a  strip  plaza  like  shopping  center.  John  looks  at  Su  with a confused  look  on  his  face.

Su  looks  back  at  him  and  says  ” Hot  sauce.  I  think  this  is  the  place,  let’s  see.”

” Oh  yeah,  hope  they  got  some hot  stuff.”

” Last time there was a lot to choose from. They have their own seasonings too. They are Florida and local based seasonings and sauces and a few other things,” Su says as it starts comes back to her.

” Cool,  I mean … Smokin!… Hot!.  Like  you.”

Su  smiles  and  they  make  their  way up  a  wheel  chair  accessible  ramp  passing  a  younger  couple on  their  way  down  the  ramp.

” They  seem  happy,”  John says.

” Yep,  Sanibel  does  that  to people.  Does  to  me.”

” Me  too.  Specially  when  you are  happy.”

” Here  it  is.  “ Sand  Castle Gifts  and  Gourmet.”

John  opens  the  door  and  can  smell the  spices  right  away.

” Cumin!”

” Is  that  that  smell?  I  was wondering  what  it  was,  I  knew  it  smelled  familiar,”  she asks.

” Mostly  Cumin,  there’s  some other  smells  going  on  too,  kinda  smells  like  a  little  curry going on,  mixed  with  other  spices,  but  mostly  cumin  I think.”

She  waves  to  John,  ” over here.”

John  makes  his  way  over  to  where Su  is  standing  and  looks  at  the  shelves  with  a  large variety  of  hot  sauces  ranging  from  mild  to  extremely  hot.

” Hmm,  no  Trinidad.”

Su  points  out  a  few  she  thinks John  might  be  interested  in  and  is  reading  the  ingredients on some  of  the  bottles.

” I’m  looking  for  something that’s  local, there’s  this  gator  sauce  stuff,  but  it’s  not real  hot.”

” How  can  you  tell?”  she asks,  looking  through  the  sauces.

” Not  by  the  color,  although brown  might  be  a  good  indicator.”

Su  pulls  a  bottle  from  the  shelf, ” how  ’bout  this  one?”

John  looks  at  the  consistency  of the  sauce  and  reads  the  ingredients.  ” No,  this  one only  has cayenne.  Real  low  on  the  scoville  scale.  It’s  just above  a  Jalapeno.  What  we’re  looking  for  is something  way above  a  Habanero.”

” Jalapeno  is  plenty  hot  for me,  how  about  this  one,  it  has  Habanero.”

John  looks  at  it  considering  its potential  heat  and  holds  it  while  looking  for  something hotter.

He  enjoys  the  heat,  but  it  isn’t the  only  reason  he  eats  it.  He  uses  it  for  medicine  too. Hot peppers  contain  capsaicin.  Capsaicin  is  the  active component  that  makes  hot  peppers  “ hot “.  He  has  read that  it  can help  with  bleeding  hemorrhoids,  trigger  apoptosis in  human  lung  cancer cells,  kill  prostate  cancer  and  has topical  uses  such  as  pain  relief  ointments.

Su  hands  him  another  bottle,  ” how  about  this?”  John  takes  the  bottle,  looks  at  the consistency of  the  sauce  and  reads  the  ingredients. ” Bhut  Jolokia!  Yes,  that’ll  do … It’s  not  exactly  the  one I’m  looking  for,  but  definitely  one  of the  hottest  peppers in  the  world.”

” Oh  good,  I’m  getting hungry.”

” It  ain’t  from  here  but  it will  do,  yes siree.  I’m  gonna  pick  this  one  up  too.” Grabbing  a  small  whiskey  shaped  jar  that  has  a  label  of Florida  and  an  alligator  on  it,  they  make  their way  towards the  cash  register.

” Find  what  you  were  looking for?”

” One  yeah,  you  wouldn’t  have anything  that’s  from  Sanibel,  would  you?”

The  clerk  looks  on  the  computer. ” That  one  is  from  the  area,  just  not  from  here  on Sanibel.  I don’t  think  they  make  it  here.”

” Have  anything  with  Trinidad Scorpion?”

” Let  me  look… No,  nothing like  that.  That  one  you’re  holding  is  the  hottest  we  have at  the moment.”

John  looks  at  the  bottles,  ” Alright  thanks.  Hey,  just  so  you  know,  the  new  hottest pepper  in the  world  is  the  Butch  T  Trinidad.  There’s  another one  but  it  hasn’t  been  made  official  yet. Connoisseurs  would love  it  if  you  had  it.”

” I’ll  keep  that  in  mind, thank  you.  Enjoy  your  stay,”  the  clerk  says  with  a genuine  smile.

” Thank  you,”  Su  says.

” Thanks,”  John  says, grabbing  the  bag  of  sauces.

Exiting  the  store  they  make  their way  to  the  car  and  back  onto  the  road.  John  looks  at  the hotter  bottle  of  sauce.  ” This  is  going  to  be  good.  Oh yeah!…I  think  you  can  handle  the  other  one.”

” I  might  try  some sometime…when  I’m  in  the  mood.”

” It’s  good  for  you.”

” I  know,  but  it’s  hot,” she  says  paying  attention  to  the road.

Crossing  the  bridge  over  to Captiva,  Su  drives  slowly  looking  for  The Bubble Room.

” I  thought  it  was  right around  here  somewhere,”  she  says  looking  down  the  roads.

” I  don’t  know,  never  drove here  myself  and  can’t  remember  from  the  last  time  we  were here.”

” Ok,  keep  an  eye  out  for  a three  story  building  with  multi-colored  awnings  and  I remember  a pink  sign  with  bubbles  on  it.”

Looking  around,  they  drive  for  a few  more  minutes  looking  down  the  side  roads  for  any  signs.

“ There  it  is!  I  don’t  remember it  being  this  far  down,  I  thought  it  was  just  across  that bridge we  passed,”  Su  says,  pulling  into  the  shell  drive and  parking  under  a  shaded  area.

” This  place  is  so  cool,” John  says.

” I  love  this  place,  they have  great  desserts,  some  people  come  here  just  for  the desserts,”  Su says.

” Hey  remember  that  tree?”

” Yes,  what  about  it?”

” You  forgot?  That’s  the  tree I  backed  into  last  time  we  were  here.  You  told  me  MaryAnn hit it  too,  remember?”

” Not  really,”  Su  replies.

” Yeah,  you  told  me  a  weird story  about  how  everyone  seems  to  hit  it  the  first  time here  or something.  No?”

” I  don’t  remember  that,  but ok  I  believe  you.”

John  looks  at  the  tree  and  sees the  scars  and  little  pieces  of  tail  light  plastic  in  it.

” Heheheh,  look,  I  think  a piece  of  our  tail  light  is  still  there  from  the  last  time we  were here.”

“ Come  on  let’s  eat,  I  want  to get  back  before  the  sun  sets,”  Su  says.

” Alright,  still  kinda  weird though,”  he  says,  walking  backward  towards  the  door  of the restaurant  looking  at  the  tree.

Making  their  way  to  the  door  of the  carnival  decorated  walls  of  the  restaurant,  they  look around  at  the  murals,  old  peddle  cars  and  decorations  on the  side  of  the  building.

” Cool  place,”  John  says, looking  at  all  the  decorations.

Su  smiles,  ” yes,  I  love  the  Christmas  lights.”

They  enter  the  restaurant.

 

Copyright ©  2013  by  John  Edward  Petersen

