Scene 12 The Bubble Room

by johnepete

The Bubble Room

Entering  the  restaurant  it  is  dark and  John  feels  like  he  is  transported  back  in  time  to  a bygone  era.

” Do  do  doodoo,  do  do doodoo,”  John  sounds  out  a  song  to  an  old  television anthology  series.

” What  are  you  doing?”  Su asks.

” You  have  entered  a  dimension of  space  and  time,  you  have  entered … The  Bubble  Room… get  it?….”

” Yes,  I  get  it.  You’re  about to  get  it,  come  on  crazy  man.”

” What?”  John  says  smiling

” Over  here,  next  to  the dummies,  dummy,”  Su  says.

John  sees  a  wooden  carving  of  a famous  silent  screen  movie  actor  and  does  a  bad  voice impersonation  of  him  holding  a  cigar. ” If  it  doesn’t have  a  V  in  it,  it’s  not  a  pickle.”

Changing  back  to  his  normal  voice ” or  something  like  that,”  then  shrugs.

” Give  it  up,  sit  down,” Su  says.

” Hey  this  is  the  same  table we  sat  at  last  time.”

” I  don’t  remember,  how  can you  tell?”  Su  asks  looking  around.

” That  table  over  there,  the one  that’s  recessed  into  the  wall  with  the  bead  door  thing on  it.  I remember  saying  something  about  it  last  time  we were  here  and  this  table,  it  has  that  torpedo pop  cap  toy in  it,  I  said  something  about  that  too.”

” Yeah  I  kind  of  remember that.  I  wouldn’t  want  to  sit  at  that  table,”  she  says.

” Why  not?”

” Too  many  people  looking  at you,  it  draws  too  much  attention.”

” Oh  look,  Moe ,  Larry  and Curly,”  he  says  pointing  to  the  three  carved  wooden statuettes across  the  room.

” I  love  the  nostalgia  here and  the  Christmas  lights.  All  the  black  and  white  posters, everything.”

” It’s  one  for  the  books, that’s  for  sure.”

A  young  slim  attractive  short waitress  with  a  purple  pom  pom  head  piece  walks  over  to the table.  ” Hello  my  name  is  Gwenith,  I’ll  be  your Bubble  Scout  today.  Welcome  to  The  Bubble Room.  Is  this  your first  time  here?

” No,  we’ve  been  here  before, I  love  this  place,”  Su  says  with  a  smile.

” Weird  ‘do.  Can  I  feel  it? John  asks  staring  strangely  at  it.

Gwenith  leans  forward,  ” sure.”

” Really?”  John  asks surprised.

Gwenith  looks  at  Su.

” He’s  weird,”   Su  says waving  her  hand.

” Yes,  go  ahead,”  Gwenith says  with  a  smile.

John  reaches  out  and  tamps  the hair  piece  lightly  with  his  hand.

” Soft.  A  lot  softer  that  I thought.  Ok  cool.”

” Have  you  decided  on  what you  would  like  to  order  or  do  you  need  a  few  minutes?”

” We  need  a  few  minutes,” Su  says  looking  at  the  menu.

” Ok,  well  we’ll  bring  you out  some  Bubble Bread  and  our  glazed  rolls  while  you  decide. What  can  I  get  you  to  drink?”

” Tea  for  me,”  John  says.

“ A  glass  of  white  wine  please.”

” Alright,  I’ll  be  right  back with  your  drinks  and  Bubble  Bread  and  sticky buns.”

A  few  minutes  later  she  returns with  the  drinks,  Bubble  Bread  and  sticky  buns.  ” Here you  are our  famous  Bubble  Bread  and  sticky  buns.  Wine  for you  and  a  tea.  Have  you  decided  yet?”

John  beats  his  chest  ” I’ll have  The  Tarzan!”

” I’ll  have  the  Porter  house, thanks.”

” And  your  choice  of  sides?

” Fries  please.”

” Baked  potato  please,”  Su r eplies.

” I’ll  take  those  for  you  and that,”  Gwenith  says.

Su  and  John  hand  Gwenith  their menus.

” Oh,  that’s  mine.  I  brought it  in.”

” We  have  hot  sauce,” Gwenith  politely  says.

” Not  like  this,  this  is really,  really  hot,”  John  says.

” I  love  hot  sauce,” Gwenith  says  staring  at  the  bottle.

” You  wanna  try  some?” John  asks.

” Sure,”  Gwenith  replies.

” Grab  me  a  couple  of  tooth picks.”

” Ok  I’ll  be  right  back,  give me  a  minute,  I’m  gonna  place  your  order  while  back  there.”

John  shakes  the  bottle  of  sauce real  well.

” You  are  crazy,”  Su  says with  a  half-smile.

John  starts  singing “Crazy”.

” Crazy,  comeon,  crazy  for what?”  Su  asks,  because  she  doesn’t  think  he  knows  the words.

John  starts  singing.  ” It’s delightful,  it’s  delicious,  I’m  d’crazy  about  youuu,” mimicking  and altering  the  words  to  the  old  song  playing over  the  speakers.

Su  smiles, ” Uh  huh.”

” Yeah,  I  forgot  the  words.”

Gwenith  walks  up  to  the  table  and holds  out  three  tooth  picks.  ” Your  orders  should  be here  shortly.”

John  takes  one  of  the  toothpicks. Gwenith  offers  Su  one  and  Su  passes  by  sticking  her  palm out.  “Oh  no,  not  me  thank  you,  you  two  enjoy.”

John  opens  the  new  bottle  of  Bhut Jolokia  hot  sauce  in  front  of  her  to  assure  her  that  it hasn’t  been  tampered  with  and  dips  his  toothpick   into  the top  of  the  jar  coating  it  with  sauce and  points  the  open end  towards  Gwenith.  Gwenith  dips  her  toothpick  into  the sauce.

They  tap  the  toothpicks  together like  a  toast  and  lick  the  sauce  at  the  same  time.  They wallow  it  around  in  their  mouth  for  a  bit  and  John  starts hiccuping.

” Hmm,  it’s  warm,  it  gave  me hiccups  like  normal,  but  not  as  hot  as  I  thought  it  would be,” John  says.

” No,  it’s  not  that  hot,  it’s actually  pretty  good,”  Gwenith  says.

” Yeah,  it’s  got  a  great flavor.  Ahem,”  John  says,  clearing  his  throat  as  the heat  intensifies.

” Thank  you,”  Gwenith says.

“ Yeah,  “huc” no problem.”

Gwenith  leaves  and  John  looks  at Su.

” Hmm,  I  thought  it  would  be way  hotter  than  this.”

” It’s  probably  from  eating all  those  peppers  you  grow  at  home.”

” Yeah,  maybe,  I  dunno.  Maybe it  doesn’t  have  a  lot  of  the  pepper  in  it  or  something.”

Su  sees  sweat  starting  to  dribble down  his  forehead,  ” or  maybe  it  hasn’t  kicked  in  yet.”

John  tries  clearing  his  throat  as the  heat  intensifies  and  feels  the  sweat  starting  to  bead on  his head  and  start  running  down  his  face  and  neck.

” Yeah,  I  think  you’re  right, whoo,  getting  a  bit  warm.  Wow!”

Su  giggles  a  bit.

” Satisfactory?”  Su  asks.

” Ahem,  oh yes!  yowsa,  phew.”

” Good,  that’s  what  you wanted,  right?”

” Ahem,  I  like  everything about  it  but  the  “hic”  hiccups.  If  that  doesn’t burn  them  lil  critters, “hic”,  nothing  will.  WoW! That’s  hot.”

” You  gonna  be  ok?”  Su asks.

” Yeah,  it  dissolves  with protein.  When  that  prime  rib  gets  here  it’ll  knock  the  heat out.  It usually  only  lasts  for  about  5  minutes  anyway.”

John  continues  to  wipe  away  the sweat  as  his  sinuses  begin  clearing  and  tries  to  clear  his throat.  A  young  attractive  dark  haired  male  Bubble  Scout with  his  arms  full  of  food  delivers  their  order  to  the table.

” The  Tarzan?”

John  raises  his  hand  and  beats his  chest  a s his  eyes  get  real  big.

” Oh  my!”  Su  says, looking  at  the  huge  piece  of  meat  that  is  rising  off  the plate  like  a  mountain.

” Porter  House  for  you,  enjoy. Is  there  anything  else  we  can  get  for  you?”

” Another  three  inches  of stomach,  my  God,  look  at  that  thing.  Very  many  people  eat all  that?”  John  asks.

” Oh  yes,  lots  of  people,” the  male  Bubble  Scout  says  politely.

” Oh  Luckyyy!  He  was  a  friend of  mine,”  John  belts  out  a  verse  of  a  song  by  Steve Arvey.

” You’ll  eat  it.  I’m  all  set thank  you,”  Su  says.

” I’ll  leave  you  to  your meal,  enjoy.”

” Thank  you,”  Su  says picking  up  her  utensils.

” Thanks  man,”  John  says staring  at  the  heaping  plate.

Su  takes  a  bite  of  her  steak, her  eyes  roll  back.  ” Mmm,  I’m  in  heaven.  That  is delicious.”

John  taps  the  large  piece  of  meat with  his  knife. ” I’ll  see  ya  when  I  come  up  for air.”

They  both  become  very  quiet  while eating  their  way  through  the  meal.  Other  patrons  in  the restaurant  are  enjoying  their  time  and  meals  at  The  Bubble Room  also.  Men,  women  and children  are  talking  and  eating while  looking  around  the  uniquely  decorated,  dim  lit atmosphere.  The  Bubble  Scouts  are  taking  good  care  of  their customers.  Everyone  seems  happy and  satisfied.

” That  was  wonderful,”  Su says  wiping  her  mouth  with  her  napkin.

” Poor  Luckyyyyy!”  John  belts out  a parody of  “ Oh Lucky” by Steve Arvey. “ I  didn’t think  I  was  going  to  eat  it  all.”

“ There’s  enough  scraps  for  him. We  probably  shouldn’t  give  it  to  him,  it’s  not  good  for him,” Su  says.

” He  hasn’t  got  long  to  go. It’s  up  to  you,”  John  states.

” Let’s  not  think  about  that right  now.  We’ll  take  them  with  us  and  see  how  he’s feeling.”

” Yours  was  pretty  good,  huh?”

” Oh  yes.  I  would  eat  another one  if  I  wasn’t  so  full,”  she  says.

“  Did  you  enjoy  dinner?” Gwenith  asks.

” Oh  yes.  Perfect,”  Su says.

” Very  good,”  John  says nodding.

” May  I  suggest  coffee  and Strawberry  Cheesecake  for  dessert?”

John  looks  at  Su  and  shakes  his head  back  and  forth  ” None  for  me,  thanks.”

” None  for  me  either,  but  I’d like  to  take  one  of  those  Strawberry  Cheesecakes  home  with us and  a  doggy  bag  please.”  Su  says.

” Alright  I’ll  be  right  back,” Gwenith  says.

” Bet  the  kids  will  love that,”  John  says.

” If  there’s  any  left.  I  know Lucky  will,”  Su  says  smiling.

John  chuckles  and  rubs  his  belly.

Gwenith  comes  to  the  table  with  a box  that  has  the  pie  in  it  and  a  to-go  container  with  a paper  bag  that  has  ” Doggy Bag”  printed  on  it  and places  the  bill  on  the  table.

Su  places  the  credit  card  on  top of  the  bill  dish  and  writes  the  gratuity  on  the  receipt.

They  get  up,  John  grabs  the  pie and  doggy  bag  and  lets  Su  lead  the  way  out  to  the  car.

” Hang  on,  I  forgot  the sauce,”  John  says  as  he  turns  around.

Su  tilts  her  head  back  slightly frustrated,  as  John  runs  into  the  restaurant  to  get  the  hot sauce off  the  table.

Su  starts  the  car  and  John  meets her  and  gets  into  the  passenger  seat.

” How  come  the  airbag  lights are  on?  Never  noticed  that  before,”  John  asks.

Su  looks  down  between  the  dash and  the  shifting  lever  and  sees  two  red  lights  with  chairs on them  that  have  X’s  through  the  chairs.

” I  don’t  know,  were  they like  that  before?”  Su  asks.

” Didn’t  notice  it.”

” There’s  nothing  we  can  do about  it  now,  we’ll  just  have  to  be  extra  cautious.”

” It’s  not  gonna  lock  the transmission  or  anything  is  it?”

Su  looks  at  John  funny.

” What?  I  don’t  think  so. I’ll  have  it  looked  at  when  we  get  back  home,”  Su says.

” Alright.  I’m  not  real  big on  getting  pummeled  in  the  face  by  a  big  ole  bag  if  we hit something  at  5  miles  per  hour  anyway.”

” Beats  being  dead,”  Su says.

” Yeah…  How  long  til sunset?”

” About  an  hour,  we’ve  got plenty  of  time.”

” You  ok?  You  want  me  to drive?”

” I’m  hurting  pretty  good,  but the  seat  is  supporting  my  back  so  I’m  ok  for  now.  I’ll take  my medicine  when  we  get  back  to  the  cottage.”

Following  the  same  route  back  to the  cottage  John  takes  note  of  a  number  of  private  drives that  lead  to  homes.  He  sees  a  very  large  home  with  pillars and  multi-level  stairs.

” Nice  home,  I  think  it’s  a home,”  he  says.

” Wouldn’t  that  be  nice?”

” I’ll  guess  about  8  million dollars  nice.  I  painted  a  home  in  a  high-end  area  about that  size and  it  was  about  8 million.  Don’t  really  know  the real  estate  prices  here  but  if  I  had  to  guess…  at  the least  in  the  4  million  range… and  probably  hurricane resistant.”

” Can  you  imagine?”  Su asks.

” Yeah,  but  that’s  about  all I  can  do  is  imagine.”

John  sees  another  home,  one  that looks  like  it  is  on  stilts.  ” That  one  had  like  a porch  under the  house,  kinda  cool.”

” Until  you  have  to  bring  the groceries  in  and  carry  them  all  the  way  up  the  stairs,” Su  says.

” Yeah  true.  Still  would  be nice  to  live  here  though.  It  is  your  favorite  place  and you  know how  I  feel  about  Island  Time.”

” I  wish,”  Su  says.

John  ponders  for  a  moment …” We  should  look  into  it,  maybe  when  you  retire  we  can  get a place  here  with  a  cottage  or  something  and  rent  out  the cottage  for  income.  It’s  only  one building,  I  could  take care  of  one  building.  Then  when  something  major  had  to  be done  we could  call  in  contractors  or  however  they  do  it here.”

” I  bet  the  insurance  and taxes  are  outrageous,”  Su  says  while  trying  to  keep  her eyes  on  the road.

” I  think  we  ought  to  look into  it,”  John  says.

” We  can  look  into  it,  let’s just  enjoy  our  time  here  now.”

” Absolutely.”

Su  pulls  into  the  long  shell  rock drive  of  the  complex,  shells  cracking  and  popping  with  sand grinding  beneath  the  tires  making  a Shiiishk-pop-Shiishhk-popping  sound.

Parking  beneath  the  Australian  Pine beside  the  cottage,  John  retrieves  the  doggy  bag  and cheesecake  from  the  back  seat.  Su  grabs  the  bag  of  hot sauces  and  they  make  their  way  inside.

Copyright ©  2013  by  John  Edward  Petersen

