Scene 20 – Tuesday Morning

by johnepete

Tuesday  Morning

Su  shakes  John’s  foot,  ” wake up  baby.”

 

” Wha?”  John  says,  with his  eyes  still  closed.

 

” You  told  me  to  get  you  up, that  you  wanted  to  go  shelling  early.”

 

” I  did?”  he  asks.

 

” No,  but  I  know  you  do.”

 

” Yes  dear.”

 

” What  was  that?”  she asks  abruptly.

 

” My  honey  pie,  my  sweety, thank  you.  I  wouldn’t  miss  it  for,  for.”

 

” For  what?”  she  asks.

 

” All  the  coffee  in  the world.”

 

Su  lays  next  to  John  who  is  half covered  in  the  bed  linens  and  gives  him  a  hug  and  kiss, then  gets  back  up.  ” I’m  going  out  to  the  beach  now. Coffee  is  made.  You  don’t  have  to  join me  if  you  don’t want.  I  don’t  want  you  to  feel  obligated.  But  you  can  if you  want,  it’s  one  of those  days,”  she  says.

 

” Alright,  I’ll  be  out  there soon,  I  love  you.  Want  me  to  bring  something  on  my  way down?”

 

” No,  I  got  everything  thanks and  leave  Lucky  here,”  she  says.

 

John  looks  over  at  Lucky  in  the other  bed  and   sees  he  is  knocked  out  cold.  He  looks  to make  sure  he  is  breathing  and  hears  him  snore  a  little.

 

John  lays  his  head  back  on  the pillow  trying  to  wake  up.  ” Yeah,  I  don’t  think  he’s in  the mood  anyway.”

 

John  hears  the  door  close  and lock.

 

Getting  up  he  staggers  into  the kitchen  in  his  boxers,  pours  a  cup  of  coffee  and  makes  a thermal  cup  to  take  out  to  the  beach  with  him.

 

The  computer  is  open  and  he  sees his  stooper  beside  it.  He  doesn’t  remember  it  being  there or  placing  it  there.  He  is  confused.

 

He  walks  up  to  the  computer picking  up  the  string  of  shells  and  jostles  them  in  his hand trying  to  remember  how  they  got  there.  He  thinks  Su may  have  found  them  in  his  pocket  and left  them  there  for him  to  find.

 

Hovering  over  the  computer,  he opens  his  story  file  and  quickly  types  in  the  murder scenario  at  the  cottage.  He  closes  out  and  shuts  the computer.

After  sipping  the  first  cup  of coffee,  he  gets  dressed  and  shoves  a  cold  bottle  of  water into one  of  his  shorts  pockets.  Won’t  stay  cold  for  long.

 

Coffee  mug  in  hand,  he  heads  down to  the  beach  to  meet  Su  in  his  sandals,  camouflage  shorts, gray  shirt,  fishing  cap  and  amber  lensed  glasses.

 

The  sky  is  blue  and  clear  and the  morning  sun  is  starting  to  warm  up.

 

Making  his  way  through  the  sand he  walks  down  the  roped  path  and  notices  the  shell  he placed  there  is  now  gone.

 

Looking  for  Su  along  the  beach  he sees  several  people  lounging  on  chairs  facing  the  water. Two middle  aged  women  lounging  close  to  the  water,  a  family  of six  playing  in  the  water  and  several  couples  walking  the beach.

 

John  finds  Su  walking  in  the water  looking  for  shells  and  walks  up  to  her.  ” Hey baby,”  he says.

 

Su  looks  up  and  smiles.  Walking over  to  him  she  gives  him  a  hug  and  kiss.  ” That  was quick,”  she  says  with  a  smile.

 

” Gotta  get  that  Junonia  ya know?  You  want  me  to  hang  out  here  or  do  you  want  to walk with  me?”  he  asks.

 

” I’ll  go  with  you  for  a while.”

 

” Cool.  You  didn’t  happen  to bring  the  sunscreen  did  ya?”

 

” Not  the  one  you  use,  but  I have  some  of  the  other.”

 

” That’ll  do.”

 

They  walk  to  the  chair.  Su  pulls the  sunscreen  out  of  her  beach  bag  and  hands  it  to  him.

 

” Put  some  on  my  back  for  me would  you?  I  have  a  feeling  it’s  going  to  be  a  real scorcher today,”  she  asks.

 

” Sure.”

 

Su  turns  around,  pulls  her  straps from  her  shoulders  and  he  slathers  on  the  lotion.  Su giggles and  squirms  ” Oh  cold … hah!”

 

” Sorry.  It  smells  good,” he  says  as  he  runs  his  finger  over  a  scar  on  her  back.  ” That’s  a really  big  scar  that  doctor  left.”

 

” It  was  really  bad,  he  said that  it  was  close  to  wrapping  around  my  spine,  that  I  was really lucky  it  didn’t.”

 

” What’d  they  call  it?” he asks.

 

” I  don’t  know  the  scientific name  they  used,  but  it  was  basically  a  cyst  that  got infected.”

 

” Nasty.” John says making a face.

 

” Yes  it  was.  He  said  I  was cystic  or  have  cystic  skin  problems.  That’s  it  “cystic.”

 

” Does  it  hurt?”  he  asks, as  he  applies  more  lotion.

 

” No,  it  itches  from  time  to time,  but  doesn’t  hurt.”

 

” That’s  good,  you  ready?”

 

” Yep,  let’s  go.”

 

John  wipes  a  heavy  amount  of lotion  on  his  nose,  face  and  ears.  ” Don’t  forget  about the Alphabet  Cone,”  he  says.

 

” What  about  it?”  she asks.

 

” It’ll  kill  you.”

 

Su  waves  her  hand  at  him.

 

” Just  reminding  you.”

 

” I  know,  I  don’t  want  to think  about  it,”  Su  says.

 

” Just  mind  your  alphabet, that’s  all.”

 

They  head  down  to  the  shoreline and  up  the  beach  looking  for  shells.  Su  stays  on  the  hard sand  as  John  makes  his  way  through  the  ankle  deep  water stooping  for  hours  looking  for  shells.

 

John  finds  many  common  Jingle, Calico  and  Fan  Scallop  shells,  Slipper  shells,  Spiny  Jewel Boxes,  Calico  Clam  and  Crossed-barred  Venus  shells.

 

” Hey,  what  do  we  do  when  we find  all  the  shells?”  he  asks.

 

” Find  bigger  and  prettier ones.” Su  says  without  looking  up.

 

Su  is  concentrating  on  finding larger,  more  colorful  shells  and  picks  up  many  Calico Scallop,  Florida  Fighting  Conch,  Turkey  Wings  and  Alternate Tellin  shells.  She  also  finds  several  Augers,  Ceriths, fragmented  Shark’s  Eyes  and  another  small  Lightning  Whelk shell  in  superb condition.

 

Sitting  down  on  the  beach  to rest,  Su  lets  the  waves  roll  over  her  legs  and  waist.

 

” Ready  to  go  back?”  John asks.

 

” No,  just  resting,  but  don’t know  how  much  longer  I’ve  got  in  me.”

 

” I’m  gonna  see  what’s  out here  in  the  water,”  John  says,  pointing  to  an  area  in deeper  water straight  out  from  where  Su  is  sitting.

 

Su  watches  John  as  he  drags  the dip  net  along  the  bottom  of  the  beach  under  the  water, pulls it  out,  rinses  the  sand  out  in  the  waves  and  check for  shells,  then  dumps  the  excess  back  into the  water,  every once  in  a  while  sticking  one  in  his  pocket.  Over  and  over he  goes  through  the  same  process.

 

John  pulls  up  the  net  and  sees he’s  caught  a  small  needle  fish.  Pinching  the  bag  so  it doesn’t jump  out  he  takes  it  over  to  Su.  ” Hey,  look at  this  one.”  Opening  the  bag  Su  looks  in  the  net expecting  to  see  a  shell  when  the  fish  jumps,  scaring  her.

 

” Oh!”  she  says  as  she leans  back  trying  to  dodge  it.

 

” Dinner?”  John  asks jokingly.

 

Su  gives  him  a  funny  look,  ” Are  you  going  to  go  fishing?”

 

” I  just  did,  don’t  even  need a  pole.”

 

” You  know  what  I  mean, didn’t  you  bring  your  pole?”

 

” Yes.  I  might  go  one  of these  nights.  I  don’t  wanna  be  holding  a  rod  with  lightning going  on,”  he  says.

 

Su  raises  her  eyebrows  and  nods her  head.  ” True.”

 

” I  don’t  really  want  to  just catch  them  for  no  reason.  If  I  catch  them,  I’m  gonna  eat them  or use ’em  for  bait.”

 

” You  just  caught  that  one.”

 

” And  I’m  putting  it  back  in the  water  right  now,”  he  says,  as  he  walks  close  to the  water  and  tosses  the  fish  back  in.

 

“ It’s  not  like  hooking  them, once  you  hook  them,  their  mortality  rate  drops  to twenty-five percent  with  a  barbed  hook,”  he  says.

 

” Really?”

 

” Yeah,  it  was  a  real  bummer when  I  found  out  myself.  You  know  how  much  I  love fishing.”

 

” Yeah,  but  it’s  just  a fish,”  she  says.

 

” It’s  a  living  thing,  I don’t  know …  maybe  I’m  getting  soft  or  something,” John  says,  feeling confused.

 

” Noo,  you  just  care  more  I think.”

 

” Yep,  that  I  do.”

 

” That’s  another  thing  I  love about  you”  she  says.

 

” What ,  that  I’m  getting soft.”

 

” No.  That  you  care.  Brat!”

 

John  chuckles  and  stares  out  at the  water  as  the  waves  push  foam  onto  the  sand,  moving back  and  forth.  He  is  hoping  his  sacrifice  really  is  making a  difference  and  that  it  is  a  good thing  and  that  one person  can  make  a  difference  in  such  a  small way.  Butterfly effect.

 

” Yeah,  well  that’s  part  of why  I  try  catching  catfish,”  he  says.

 

” Why  is  that?”  Su  asks.

 

” If  I’m  fishing  for  it,  I won’t  throw  it  back  and  they’re  fun  to  catch.  Specially when  you  hook  into  a  big  ole  hawg.  Good  eats,  one  of  the best  for  you  too.”

 

” Not me.”

 

” Well,  if  you  did  eat  fish. I  don’t  know,  I  might  take  the  kids  out  fishing  one  of these  nights,  hook  into  a  good  sized  one  and  let  them  reel it  in.”

 

Su  smiles,  ” That  would  be good.  I  think  they  would  like  that.”

 

” We’ll  see  how  it  goes. Remember  the  last  time  we  took  Justin  to  the  lake.? He wanted  nothing  to  do  with  it.”

 

” Well,  it  was  really  hot  and we  were  right  in  the  sun,”  she  says.

 

” True …  I  tried  to  get y’all  to  go  in  the  shade.”

 

” You  told  us  that  that  was where  the  fish  were.”

 

” That  was  where  the  fish were,  but  we  could  have  moved.  I  was  just  trying  to  give the  best chances  of  catching  fish  so  he  had  a  good experience,”  he  says.

 

“ We  caught  fish,  it  was  just way  too  hot  for  him,  I  think.  I  was  sweating  like  crazy and  I’ve lived  here/there  all  my  life  basically.  I  am  kind of  use  to  it.  He’s  just  a  kid.”

 

” Yeah  it  was  pretty  hot. We’ll  see  how  it  goes.  They’ll  probably  have  their  nose buried  in  the TV,  playing  video  games  anyhow.”

 

” They  might,  but  it’s  ok, they’re  on  vacation.  Like  you  said,  we’ll  see  how  it  goes.”

 

” I’m  here  for  them  if  they want  me  to  be,”  John  says.

 

” Don’t  be  like  that.”

 

” Oh  no,  I  didn’t  mean  it  in a  bad  way.  We  were  kids  once  too,  we  know  how  it  goes.”

 

” Yeah  ok.  Well,  I  think  I’m gonna  head  back.”

 

” Darn,  I  was  kinda  hoping  to keep  going,”  he  says.

 

” No,  you  can  stay  and  keep going,  but  remember  that  thing  I  told  you  about … having to  walk  all  the  way  back  too.”

 

” Yeah,  I  got  ya.  Want  me  to walk  you  back?”  he  asks.

 

” No,  it’s  ok,  I  understand. I  know  you  want  to  find  a  Junonia  as  bad  as  me  but  I can  only  go  so  far  with  this  damn  back.”

 

” You  sure?”

 

” Yes,  I’m  ok  with  it.  I’m just  gonna  go  back  inside  for  a  while  and  take  my medicine.  Might take  a  nap  too.”

 

” Yeah,  I’m  not  ready  to  just sit  around  just  yet.  I  love  you  babe.”

 

” I  love  you,  don’t  forget  to keep  putting  on  that  lotion.”

 

” Yeah,  definitely.  Oh  hey … Could  you  take  these  shells  for  me?  I  wanna  have  more  room for more.”

 

” Sure.”

 

John  empties  his  pockets  of  shells and  empties  the  shelling  net  into  hers.  “ Thank  you baby,” he  says.

 

” Pss,  no  problem.  Good  luck!”

 

Su  turns  and walks  away,  heading  down  the  beach,  picking  up  shells  along the  way.

 

John  watches  her.  When  she  gets about  twenty-five  yards  away  she  turns  around  and  waves. John smiles  and  waves  back.

 

Turning  around  he  makes  his  way up  the  beach,  determined  to  find  her  a  Junonia  shell.

 

 

 

Copyright ©  2012  by  John  Edward  Petersen

